top of page
Search

The Raw Truth About Breastfeeding

As much as I LOVE breastfeeding, educating families and other birth workers, supporting moms in their respective journeys, the raw truth about breastfeeding is...

IT'S HARD!!


I've personally dealt with

  • being touched out (see next point)

  • three babies in four years, all with different needs and personalities (see next point)

  • nursing while pregnant

  • nursing aversion

  • severe engorgement

  • cracked nipples

  • oversupply

  • incorrect latch

  • separation from my babies while working

  • pumping, parts, bottles, schedules, leaving milk at the office #lawdt

  • high lipase

  • bottle refusal

  • teething

  • biting

  • being interrupted every time I was about to do something

  • pure exhaustion (see all of the above)

But really, I wouldn't trade the ability and opportunity to breastfeed my babies for anything else!

  • We created bonds that no one can replicate.

  • My body made perfect milk for my tiny humans.

  • I protected my babies from sicknesses.

  • I healed them when they needed it.

  • I learned to slow down.

  • I saved a bunch of money.

  • I normalized breastfeeding in my family.

I wrote all this to say, stick with it sis! The benefits far outweigh the challenges. You'll look back and see a completely different woman. You'll know how to support another woman going through the breastfeeding blues and be able to encourage her. I'm a believer that the things we go through are ultimately to help someone else...so keep that same energy! Be gentle with yourself but don't let up. You got this!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page